Skip to content

The Skinny Apple

I lost 4.4 lbs since I started! It felt good to get on the Wii board and discover that this morning!  Yesterday I ran again for about 10 minutes. I can’t seem to go over though LOL, not yet! I’m giving myself a week to push to 15 minutes. I did walk and run intermittently for over an hour though, so 4 miles.

I had a pork chop last night, with pan seared brussel sprouts and crema mexicana pasta. I did pay attention to the portion, and that’s what matters. I’m against anything that says “diet” or “light”. I like my ingredients whole. I’m a foodie and used to be a line cook at several fine dining restaurants down here in New Orleans. The quality of what I ingest is sacrosaint!

I even got Limburger cheese lol. My husband says it stinks. I say it stinks SO GOOD!

So, so far this is what’s helping me lose weight:

Morning:

  • 1 glass freshly juiced apple + 2 carrots (and sometimes whatever else added like grapes, peaches, etc…)
  • 1 egg cooked the way I want, 2 buttered pieces of whole grain toast, cucumber slices sprinkled with balsamic vinegar.
  • I brew 2 quarts of green tea for the day. I leave the pot on the stove and pour myself a 16 oz glass whenever I’m thirsty.

I drink on average five 6 oz glasses of tea or water a day. I used to have to remind myself but it seems my body is starting to love the constant hydration.

Lunch:

  • A whole grain bread sandwish. Something easy. We had sardines in jalapeno mustard, a slice of pepper jack and cucumber slices in it yesterday.

No snack and that’s not even because we’re hungry! Around 5:30 pm we go to the park and walk/run for 2 lapses so that’s 4 miles. this takes us about an hour. The park is awesome too! There’s a lake in the middle with ducks, herons, squarrels and…otters!

When we come back we ARE starving, so I start cooking.

Dinner:

  • The biggest meal of the day I usually serve around 8 or 8:30pm. Ok, so for this one I will serve anything yummy as long as: we have veggies, the food is NOT processed and I cook everything from scratch.

Most days I try to keep it vegetarian. I made some awesome butternut squash potato soup the other day, enough to fill us up and freeze an additional 2 quarts!

As far as my quit goes, we’ve been tobacco free for 2 weeks and 5 days!  So yes, it IS possible to lose weight after  quitting smoking!

I also want to add that I’ve drastically cut my drinking down to almost zero. For the last 3 weeks I’ve had one beer and one night when I had one too many rums and that was more than 2 weeks ago. I don’t even want to drink alcohol at all. Now is a crucial time. Later I think I will drink some but not nearly as much as before.

